Professional Certificate in General Insurance NEW



Who is this programme for?

The Professional Certificate in General Insurance has been designed as a ‘bridge’ for Qualified Financial Advisers (QFAs) who sell, advise on or undertake specified activities on any one or more of the following categories of retail financial products:

  • Life Assurance
  • Pensions
  • Savings and Investments
  • Personal General Insurance
  • Private Medical Insurance and Associated Insurances
  • Housing Loans, Home Reversion Agreements and Associated Insurances
  • Consumer Credit Agreements and Associated Insurances

This single-module level 7 qualification builds on the Professional Diploma in Financial Advice by introducing risk and general insurance, building a familiarity with the general insurance market in Ireland and providing an understanding of its regulation. It is designed to provide you with an understanding of the underwriting and claims processes in general insurance and a knowledge of the nature and scope of products available in the general insurance market.

How you will benefit

On successful completion of this programme, and on attaining the recognised professional designation APA, you will be able to:

  • Demonstrate an understanding of underwriting and the nature of the adviser-client relationship to establish a consumer risk profile and identify their insurance needs
  • Analyse the information gathered and develop effective solutions to meet the risks faced by the consumer; with required documentation; while highlighting the issues and ongoing service requirements that are of particular importance to a range of personal general (including PMI) insurances
  • Describe the scope of personal lines and private medical insurance products available in the Irish market
  • Evaluate the principles and procedures involved in insurance claims including dispute resolution and the impact of the Central Bank’s Consumer Credit Act

This programme is offered in partnership with The Insurance Institute and LIA.

Minimum Competency Code

QFAs who successfully complete the Professional Certificate in General Insurance and apply for the attaching APA designation satisfy the Central Bank of Ireland’s Minimum Competency Code for those who wish to sell, advise on, or undertake specified functions, for the categories of retail financial product ‘Personal General Insurance’ and ‘Private Medical Insurance and Associated Insurances’.

QFAs who hold the APA (Personal General Insurance) designation, are accredited to sell, advise on, or undertake specified functions for seven of the eight retail financial product categories under the Code. Continued use of the designations is subject to meeting annual CPD requirements.


One module:

  • Personal General Insurance (NFQ Level 7, 5 ECTS)


When you successfully complete this programme you will be awarded a Professional Certificate in General Insurance (level 7) from UCD.


Students undertaking PDI-03 Personal General Insurance in the 2016/2017 exam sittings, will be examined in the following format:

  • 2 hour exam
  • 100 Multiple choice questions
  • 40% pass mark 

Entry requirements

  • Only QFAs are eligible to enrol for the Professional Certificate in General Insurance
  • You must apply for the QFA designation after successfully completing the Professional Diploma in Financial Advice before you are eligible to enrol for this programme

Professional Body Membership

You must be a current member of the Institute or become a member, to undertake this programme.

Membership is currently €40 per calendar year.



This programme is delivered by the Insurance Institute. For further information on this programme including Syllabus Summary, Learning Supports and Examination Dates please visit