The Institute of Banking honours Dr. T.K. Whitaker

The Institute of Banking conferred an Honorary Fellowship on Dr. T.K. Whitaker and also created an annual T.K Whitaker Scholarship in his honour.

The Honorary Fellowship was conferred on Dr. Whitaker at a special dinner on Wednesday 21 January 2015, hosted by Jim Brown, the Institute’s President, when the Scholarship was also announced. The dinner was attended by senior executives from banking and financial services, the Central Bank of Ireland and from UCD. Dr. Whitaker was accompanied by his granddaughter, Jane Whitaker.

In his conferral speech Jim Brown said that Dr. Whitaker is widely regarded as one of Ireland’s greatest living Irish people and the most influential civil servant to have served this country. He referred to the Taoiseach, Enda Kenny’s recent description of Dr. Whitaker as “a brilliant man, a man who made a singular and peerless contribution to life on the island of Ireland, a national treasure”. In conferring the Honorary Fellowship and establishing the Scholarship, Mr Brown said that the Institute would like to pay tribute to Dr. Whitaker’s immense contribution to Ireland and to the development of the Irish economy, including the banking and education sectors.
Responding, Dr. Whitaker said he was greatly honoured to receive the Fellowship. He is also delighted with the annual Scholarship in his name that is being established and the role the Scholarship can play in supporting the professional development of future leaders in the banking profession.

The Scholarship

The T.K. Whitaker Scholarship is to a UCD graduate programme (Diploma in Advanced Management Performance) or an equivalent programme to be decided by the Institute. It will be awarded on annual basis to the top candidate on the Professional Diploma in Banking, which leads to the Chartered Banker designation. A T.K. Whitaker Medal will also be awarded to the successful candidate at the Institute’s graduation ceremony each year. You can read and/or download details of the Scholarship eligibility and selection criteria from the right-hand panel on this page.


(Sitting from the left to right): Aidan Brady, Chief Executive, Citibank Europe Plc., Jim Brown, President, The Institute of Banking, Dr. T.K. Whitaker, Michael Feeney, Chief Executive, The Institute of Banking.
(Standing from left to right): Ciaran O'hOgartaigh, Dean of Business, UCD, Jane Whitaker, Bernard Sheridan, Director of Consumer Protection, Central Bank of Ireland, Jeremy Masding, Group Chief Executive, Permanent tsb Bank, Julie Sharp, Head of Group HR, Bank of Ireland, Terry Browne, Coutry Manager, Danske Bank, Noel Brett, Chief Executive, BPFI, Kevin Gallen, Deputy Chief Executive, The Institute of Banking